ON-Octobre Numérique

Thanks to this project from the collective AILO, imagined as an immersive and sensory experience, the public is invited to discover the spaces of the castle in a completely new way. Dialoguing with the historical architecture, this exposition navigates between movement, light and architecture to create pieces that are both material and immaterial, physical and spatial, all based on recycled light.
The artists lead the public along an immersive path that is both augmented by way of the tricks of light diffraction and virtual by way of the discovery of new spatial dimensions.

Julie Miguirditchian
Artistic Director of the « Octobre Numérique » festival.

Light Construction

2016 (50cm width x 50cm depth x 130 cm height. Wood, mirrors, light, motor, electronics.)

Immersive set-up, dialogue between matters. The sculpture, a palpable matter, is transcended by the geometric appearance of luminous reflections. Throughout a slow choreography, they organize themselves in a perfect cube, laid on the ground, and then envelope the whole space around. Light, an unpalpable matter, appears as if sculpted. Games of opposition and contrasts, thanks to the view of the sculpture's inside. A tower of mirrors, where geometric lines are reflected in an infinite maze of geometric designs.

To Compose

2017 (540cm lenght x 140cm width x 40cm height. Mirrors, mapping vidéo)

An heritage reflection work, where mirror facets redesign the setting's new vision. Interaction between the spectator, who slowly creates his own vision as he moves, and the heritage reflecting inside. Video mapping highlights the chapel's arches and then creates a whole, between the setting and the sculpture, while giving birth to these notions of motion and depth.

Diffraction

2017 (170cm height x 100cm width x 100cm depth. Wood, mirrors, mapping vidéo)

Originating from a single light ray, the discovery of diffraction games provided by reflecting surfaces. Programmation variations create a dialogue with the sculpture, give it a sense of motion. Questioning our perception.

Light Motion

2016/2017 (Mirrors, mapping video. Variable dimensions)

Immersive and sensorial work. All stems from the line, such as a desire for something infinite.

A game of projected luminous lights, that progresses in slow fashion. Interaction with mirrors transcending the light flow. Reflected to the ground and multiplied, as if to better include the spectator. Discovery of the lines' thicknesses to interact with the exhibit's setting. Taken into darkness, luminous lines grow thinner, to slowly reveal, more and more, as the lines grow thicker.

Light Experience

2017 (120cm height x 120 cm width x 50cm depth. Wood, motorized light)

All stems from the line. Luminous undulation work. 7 grooves that resonates with the castle's loopholes, where the light emerges, as if it had been imprisoned, to shine even brighter. Motorized, it slowly undulates, as if it was looking for some roundness, similarly to this sculpture's volumes, round with straight lines.

 

EN
FR EN

ON-Octobre Numérique

Grâce à cette proposition du collectif AILO, pensée comme un véritable parcours sensoriel et immersif, le public est invité à découvrir «autrement» les espaces du château. En dialogue avec l’architecture historique, cette exposition entre mouvement, lumière et architecture présente des œuvres aux propriétés matérielles et immatérielles, physiques et spatiales, toutes basées sur une lumière recréée.
Les artistes emmèneront le public dans une déambulation immersive à la fois augmentée par ses jeux de diffraction de lumière, et virtuelle par la découverte de nouvelles dimensions spatiales.

Julie Miguirditchian
Directrice Artistique du label « Octobre Numérique »

Light Construction

2016 (50cm L x 50cm p x 130 h cm. Bois, miroirs, lumière, moteur, électronique.)

Installation immersive, dialogue des matières. La sculpture, matière palpable, est transcendée par l’apparition géométrique des réflexions lumineuses qui dans une lente chorégraphie s’organisent en un cube parfait au sol pour ensuite envelopper l’espace autour. La lumière, matière impalpable, apparaît ici comme sculptée. Jeux d’opposition et de contraste avec la vision qu’offre l’intérieur de la sculpture. Une tour de miroirs où les lignes géométriques se reflètent dans un infini dédale de compositions géométriques.

Composer

2017  (540cm L x 140cm l x 40cm h. Miroirs, vidéo mapping)

Travail de réflexion du patrimoine en recomposant une nouvelle vision du lieu avec des facettes de miroirs. Interaction entre le spectateur qui compose sa propre vision au fur et à mesure de ses déplacements autour de l’œuvre, et le patrimoine qui vient se réfléchir à l’intérieur. Le vidéo mapping sur les voûtes de la chapelle donne la sensation d’un tout entre l’œuvre et le lieu, tout en apportant cette notion de mouvement et de profondeur.

Diffraction

2017 (170cm h x 100cm L x 100cm p. Bois, miroirs, vidéo mapping)

A partir d’une unique faisceau lumineux, recherche sur les jeux de diffractions apportés par les surfaces réfléchissantes. Les variations de la programmation lumineuse entrent en dialogue avec la sculpture, donnent une sensation de mouvement et viennent questionner notre perception.

Light Motion

2016/2017 (Miroirs, vidéo mapping. Dimensions variables)

Œuvre immersive et sensorielle. Tout part de la ligne, comme une envie d’infini.

Jeux de lignes lumineuses projetées qui progressent dans une marche lente. Interaction avec les surfaces réfléchissantes qui transcendent le flux lumineux en le renvoyant au sol démultiplié comme pour mieux inclure le spectateur. Recherche sur l’épaisseur des lignes pour interagir avec la chapelle en la plongeant dans l’obscurité lorsque les lignes s’affinent pour venir doucement la révéler au fur et à mesure de l’épaississement des lignes.

Light Expérience

2017 (120cm h x 120 cm L x 50cm p. Bois, lumière motorisée)

Travail d’ondulation de la lumière. 7 fentes qui entrent en résonance avec les meurtrières du château d’où viennent jaillir cette lumière, comme emprisonnée, pour encore mieux briller. Motorisée, elle ondule doucement, comme pour chercher une forme de rondeur, tout comme les volumes de cette sculpture, ronde aux lignes droites.

 

FR
EN FR