A.I.L.O it pronounces Hello

 

Behind the acryonm A.I.L.O (Atelier d’Immersion Lumineuse et Obscure), pronounced like the word ‘hello’, is a young sculptor who, since 2014 experiments with the process of interaction between light and darkness, palpable and incapable, reality and reflection, to create volumes: installations and sculptures. She prefers steel and mirrors for their reflective qualities, for their ability to integrate the environment and the observer in her works to make them essential components.

Immersion and interaction are the central ideas in her productions that engage the viewer in sensory and visual experiences, in a dialogue that seeks to disconnect us from reality. Light and lines are the principal components. The lines create volumes with stark edges, removing old-fashioned ornamentality to focus on the essential elements : the pure geometric shape. Light, through its ability to fill space, plunges the viewer directly inside the structure, which is animated by the viewer’s own reflection. The viewer’s movements modify the installation and make her an integral part of her own (re) creation, destabilizing her to the point of blurring the distinction between material reality and her refracted reflection shattered by the reflective surfaces.

A.I.L.O’s surprising work and their optical games challenge our convictions and our perception of elements, disturbing our stability, bringing us into the work itself, rendering us consubstantial. A.I.L.O’s recent work continues in this direction where the reflection of the room itself is reflected simultaneously with those of the visitors who move around the installations, abolishing any hierarchy between high and low, far and near…

Perhaps we can see in this work “a certain mindset where life and death, real and imaginary, the past and the future, that which can be communicated and that which is incommunicable, high and low all cease to be experienced as contradictory” by which André Breton defined the surrealist adventure.

 

Louis Doucet

Decomposed square

2015

Stainless steel installation, projector LED. Dimensions, variables.

EN
FR EN

A.I.L.O se prononce Hello

 

Derrière l’acronyme A.I.L.O (Atelier d’Immersion Lumineuse et Obscure), se prononçant comme le mot hello, se cache une jeune plasticienne qui, depuis 2014, expérimente les processus d’interaction entre lumière et obscurité, palpable et impalpable, réalité et reflet, pour créer des volumes : installations ou sculptures. Elle privilégie l’acier et les miroirs pour leurs qualités réfléchissantes, leur aptitude à intégrer l’environnement et le spectateur dans ses œuvres, à en faire des composantes essentielles.

Immersion et interaction sont les notions maîtresses de ses productions qui engagent le regardeur dans des expériences sensorielles et visuelles, dans un dialogue visant à le déconnecter du réel. La lumière et les lignes en sont les composantes principales. Les lignes structurent des volumes aux arêtes vives, évacuant toute velléité ornementale pour se concentrer sur l’essentiel : la forme géométrique élémentaire. La lumière, par sa capacité à envahir l’espace, plonge le spectateur au sein même de la structure, que son reflet spéculaire anime et habite. Ses déplacements modifient l’œuvre et font de lui une partie prenante de sa (re)création, le déstabilisant au point de lui rendre difficile la distinction entre la réalité matérielle et sa démultiplication éclatée par les surfaces réfléchissantes.

Les étonnantes créations d’ A.I.L.O et leurs jeux d’optique chamboulent nos certitudes et notre perception des éléments, perturbent notre stabilité, nous font rentrer dans l’œuvre, nous en rendent consubstantiels. Il en est ainsi de ses travaux récents où se reflètent simultanément l’image de l’espace d’exposition et celles des visiteurs qui se déplacent autour des installations, abolissant ainsi toute hiérarchie entre haut et bas, loin et proche…

Peut-être peut-on y voir ce «certain point de l’esprit d’où la vie et la mort, le réel et l’imaginaire, le passé et le futur, le communicable et l’incommunicable, le haut et le bas cessent d’être perçus contradictoirement par lequel André Breton définissait l’aventure surréaliste.

 

Louis Doucet

Carré décomposé

2015

Installation en acier Inoxydable, projecteur à découpe. Dimensions, variables.

FR
EN FR